Wednesday, June 21, 2017

Margao June Quiz

Date: Sunday, June 25th, 2017
Time: 5.00 pm
Venue: Urban Health Centre, opp. Hospicio, Margao
QM: Harsh Hegde
Flavour: General
Participation: Open to all.

Leaderboard Challenge - June 11 - content

Semi 1

QM: Nitish Wagle
For Nitish's quiz, click here.

QM: Harsh Hegde

QM: Paul Gatward

Semi 2

QM: Annie Sen Gupta

QM: Vidyadhar Gadgil

QM: Srijit Kumar


QM: Vidyadhar Gadgil

QM: Paul Gatward

Tuesday, June 20, 2017

Leaderboard Challenge - June 11 - results

For the last five years, the first special quiz of the SEQC year, following the June monthly, has been the Leaderboard Challenge. The top finishers on the previous year's Leaderboard are made captains and QMs for the day, and the rest of the gathering is divided into teams under them.

For the sake of ease of reporting, I have named each team after its captain.

1. Team Annie - Annie Sen Gupta, Lynn Barreto Miranda, Sahil Ramchandani
2. Team Rajiv - Rajiv D'Silva, Gouthami, Mahesh Prabhu
3. Team Gadgil - Vidyadhar Gadgil, Arvind Sivakumar, Pallavi Dhakne
4. Team Nitish - Nitish Wagle, Nathan Moniz, Sanjay Parab
5. Team Srijit - Srijit Kumar, Anjali Dar Sen Gupta, Omkar Churi
6. Team Paul - Paul Gatward, Madhura Chakraborty, Viola Rodrigues
7. Team Kanchan - Kanchan Gatward, Rahul Kakodkar, Rohit Koshy
8. Team Harsh - Harsh Hegde, Devadas Krishnan, Shubham Tiwari

Semi 1
QMs: Rajiv D'Silva, Nitish Wagle, Harsh Hegde, Paul Gatward
1st: Team Annie - 195 points
2nd: Team Srijit - 85 points
3rd: Team Gadgil - 65 points
4th: Team Kanchan - 40 points

Through to the Finals: Teams Annie and Srijit

Semi 2
QMs: Annie Sen Gupta, Vidyadhar Gadgil, Kanchan Gatward, Srijit Kumar
1st: Team Nitish - 145 points
2nd: Team Harsh - 140 points
3rd: Team Rajiv and Team Paul - 130 points

Through to the Finals: Teams Nitish and Harsh

QMs: Kanchan Gatward, Rajiv D'Silva, Vidyadhar Gadgil, Paul Gatward
1st: Team Annie - 230 points
2nd: Team Harsh - 181 points
3rd: Team Nitish - 130 points
4th: Team Srijit - 100 points

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Quizzers of the Year 9

As is our wont on anniversaries, during the break in the June monthly quiz, we handed out a couple of awards. One of them was a new idea -- to have a Junior Quizzer of the Year award, to be presented to the school or college quizzer who has the highest ranking in the year's Leaderboard. We had the idea rather late in the day, and so there was no trophy. That will happen from Year 10 onwards. This year, having to satisfy himself with some arbit prize, was a kid who's come a long way over the years, and who's done very well throughout the year, not least in leading his team of younglings to a third-place finish in the Decade-nce series that concluded in May -- Harsh Hegde.

Harsh gets his just rewards
The Quizzer of the Year award was retained by a man at the other end of the age spectrum, the very epitome of bearded intellectualism, the grouch with the slouch, the man who puts the red in well-read, Vidyadhar Gadgil.

The Captain of Cool gets his, from a most bewildered kid

Saturday, June 10, 2017

SEQC turns 9...

Along with the Panjim monthly on 4/Jun/2017, we celebrated SEQC's 9th birthday. Kanchan Gatward made two cakes that were attacked in the break. Before we got all smudgy with the cake, we had the group photograph. Lynn Barreto Miranda managed to get us all to smile really well for it.

And you thought a Quiz Club would be peaceful!
Cutting cake is serious business. We have to watch carefully.
Me too, me too, me too...
Might as well make use of the photographer

Panjim Monthly - 4/Jun/2017 - Results

QM: Abhijeet Virginkar

1st: Team 6 - Arvind Sivakumaran, Harsh Hegde, Kanchan Gatward, Molu Garg, Rajiv D'Silva - 305 points

2nd: Team 5 - Anish Dhaimodkar, Anjali SenGupta, Annie Sen Gupta, Sahil Ramchandani, Viola Rodrigues - 275 points

3rd: Team 4 - Anand Sivakumaran, Lynn Barreto Miranda, Nathan Moniz, Paul Gatward, Vidyadhar Gadgil - 260 points

4th: Team 3 - Aditya Sardesai, Gouthami, Harsh Bhatkuly, Nitish Wagle, Shwetambari Parab - 210 points

5th: Team 2 - Anuradha Goyal, C.K.Sidharth, Rahul Kakodkar, Sanjay Parab, Shaunak Sardessai, Sunil Sardessai - 60 points

6th: Team 1 - Amey Karpe, Mahesh Prabhu, Mano Chhabra, Pallavi Dhakne, Soham Khandeparkar, Srijit Kumar - 45 points

QM Abhijeet Virginkar with intern daughter

World Quizzing Championship - 3/Jun/2017 - Goa Results

Proctor: Kanchan Gatward

Name Score
1 Annie Sen Gupta 100
2 Rajiv D'Silva 72
3 Vidyadhar Gadgil 65
4 Rahul Kakodkar 51
5 Nitish Wagle 49
6 Gouthami 48
7 Amey Karpe 46
8 Paul Gatward 43
9 Sahil Ramchandani 42
10 Harsh Hegde 40
11 Madhura Chakraborty 37
12 Anjali SenGupta 35
13 Viola Rodrigues 27
14 Hrishikesh Chanekar 13
15 Zoheb Sheikh 11
16 Chetan Kuckian 7
17 Rohit Naik 7

Wednesday, June 7, 2017

Leaderboard Challenge 2017

Date: 11th June 2017
Time: 3.00 pm - 8.00 pm
Format: The 8 top finishers in the SEQC Leaderboard Year 9 will each set two rounds of 8 questions each. Each QM will be captain of a team, making 8 teams in total. Two semis of 4 teams each will be followed by a 4-team final.
QMs: Aniruddha Sen Gupta, Rajiv D'Silva, Vidyadhar Gadgil, Nitish Wagle, Srijit Kumar, Paul Gatward, Kanchan Gatward, Harsh Hegde.
Venue: Zuari Hall, International Centre Goa, Dona Paula - Panaji.
Participation: Open to all. All present will be slotted into one of the eight teams.

Friday, June 2, 2017

Margao Monthly - 28/May/2017 - Results

QM: Rahul Kakodkar

1st: Team 5 - Ira Prem, Julian D'Costa, Sahil Ramchandani, Vilas Pavithran - 315 points

2nd:  Team 3 - Annie Sen Gupta, Chantal D'Costa, Kanchan Gatward, Nathan Moniz, Pallavi Dhakne - 280 points

3rd:  Team 4 - Amey Karpe, Anjali SenGupta, Lynn Baretto Miranda, Viola Rodrigues - 275 points

4th:  Team 1 - Gouthami, Harsh Hegde, Mahesh Prabhu, Shashwat Salgaocar - 250 points

5th:  Team 6 - Anish Dhopeshwarkar, Ira Almeida, Paul Gatward, Rajiv D'Silva - 175 points

6th: Team 2 - Anish Dhaimodkar, Nitish Wagle, Sanjiv Prabhudesai, Terrence D'Costa, Vedang Gaonkar - 170 points

Decade-nce Finals - 28/May/2017 - Results

QM: Rajiv D'Silva

1st: Team 1: Half Centurions, Half Manchurian - Anil Rodrigues, Annie Sen Gupta, Sunil Sardessai - 240 points

2nd: Team 2: SEQC Yuva Morcha - Amey Karpe, Amey Parsekar, Nitish Wagle, Rahul Kakodkar, Shashwat Salgaokar - 190 points

3rd: Team 3: Cereal Killers - Ashwin Mascarenhas, Chinmay Naik, Harsh Hegde, Julian D'Costa, Nathan Moniz - 145 points

4th: Team 4: Oldie, Goldie, Boldie, Moldie and Babie - Kanchan Gatward, Mahesh Prabhu, Paul Gatward, Sanchita Rodrigues, Terrence D'Costa - 30 points

Thursday, June 1, 2017

Panjim June Quiz

Date: June 4, 2017
Time: 5 pm
Venue: The International Centre Goa (ICG), Dona Paula
QM: Abhijeet Virgincar
Flavour: General
Participation: Open to all, entry free

World Quizzing Championship 2017

Date: 3rd June 2017
Time: 3.00 pm. Please be seated by 2.45 pm at the latest.
Format: The quiz will consist of 8 written question papers of 30 questions each, to be answered in two 1-hour sessions with a 10-minute break in between. For an idea of what the quiz will be like, head to the IQA site.
Venue: Zuari Hall, International Centre Goa, Dona Paula - Panaji.
Participation: Open to all. This is a solo event. Participants must register beforehand by sending an email to Last date for receiving registrations is 2nd June. Spot entries will be accommodated depending on availability of question papers and seating space.

Margao May monthly - content

QM: Rahul Kakodkar