Thursday, December 29, 2016

SEQC Panjim January 2017

Date: Sunday January 1st
Venue: International Centre Goa (ICG), Dona Paula
Time: 5 pm onwards
QM: Srijit Kumar
Flavour: General
Participation: Open to all, entry free.

Tuesday, December 27, 2016

SEQC Margao December monthly – results and content

QM: Aditya Mallya
1st: Annie Sen Gupta, Cyril Rebello, Saoud, Tejan Karmali, Zubin Koticha – 415 points
2nd: Ajachi Chakrabarti, Sanjay Parab, Sanket Bhat, Soham Kamat, Viola Rodrigues – 325
3rd: Ameya Mardolkar, Aproop Prabhudessai, Gursharan Sidhu, Madhura Chakraborty, Nathan Moniz, Sahil Ramchandani – 270
4th: Dharma Rane, Gurpreet Sidhu, Harsh Hegde, Lynn Barreto Miranda, Srijit Kumar – 260

Monday, December 26, 2016

AsiaSweep - 11/Dec/2016 - Goa Scores

Proctor: Kanchan Gatward

1.      Annie Sen Gupta and Rajiv D'Silva = 47
2.      Ajey Patil and Vidyadhar Gadgil = 32
3.      Shashwat Salgaonkar  and Shubham Tiwari = 26
4.      Harsh Hegde and Samgarth Varma = 19
5.      Nitish Wagle and Paul Gatward = 18
6.    Amey Karpe and Rahul Kakodkar = 17

Thursday, December 22, 2016

Margao December Quiz

Date: Sunday, December 25th, 2016
Time: 5.00 pm
Venue: Urban Health Centre, opp. Hospicio, Margao
QM: Aditya Mallya
Flavour: General
Participation: Open to all.

Tuesday, December 20, 2016

Master, Mind It! Semis – content

QM: Aniruddha Sen Gupta


Match 1

Match 2

Match 3

Match 4

Master, Mind It! Semis – results

Ajey, Harsh, Srijit and Rajiv

Specialised subjects

Match 1
1. Viola – Outrageous Fashions
2. Ajey – Nautical Terminology
3. Tejan – Inventors and Inventions

Match 2
1. Sahil – Pioneers in Science
2. Ameya – Post-Independence Reorganisation of Indian States
3. Harsh – Indian Advertising

Match 3
1. Gouthami – The Solar System
2. Delson – The Universe
3. Srijit – Social Media Memes

Match 4
1. Rajiv – Birds of the Indian Subcontinent
2. Gadgil – 19th-Century English Literature
3. Sanjay – World Cup Cricket (50 overs)

Master, Mind It! Semis – report

This Master, Mind It! competition has lived up to the excitement that its format – that requires both a canny choice of specialised subject and strength on general subjects – can generate. The Round 2 matches, effectively the Semi-finals, saw another series of nail-biting finishes and unexpected performances. At the end of the day, the line-up for the finals is solid and exciting.

The kick-off was a little chaotic. From well before the event, I had been getting scheduling requests from people. Some needed to leave early, others needed to arrive late. A bit of juggling had had to be done with the schedule to adjust it to the individual requests. Part of that was the plan to start earlier than usual.

But well, you know how the best-laid plans go. Participants for the first Match were – barring for Viola who had a 6pm bus to catch to Bangalore – a little tardy. With Viola's need in mind, we kicked things off only 15 minutes behind schedule, fully prepared to do Viola's sets by themselves, and get around to Ajey's and Tejan's when they arrived. As it was, Ajey came in while Viola's specialised subject set was getting under way, and so we proceeded in the normal vein, but with two participants. Ajey put in a strong performance to knock Viola out, but the outcome of the match was put in abeyance till Tejan made his entry. When he did, his score was well below Ajey's, who went through to the Final.

Before starting on Matchh 2, we did a short demo round with Dr Chandrashekhar Rao, who was in town and eager to give the format a shot. He scored a full 10 in his chosen subject of Classic Hollywood Comedy.

Match 2 began one-sidedly, with Harsh striking up a large lead over Ameya and Sahil in the specialised subject sets. But the general knowledge sets almost tilted the balance. Needing to get just 2 points to win, Harsh displayed some serious brinksmanship by scoring exactly that in his general knowledge set.

The third match also was close, with the three participants finishing on sequential scores of 8, 9 and 10, but Gouthami couldn't pip Srijit at the post, finishing with just 3 points in GK when she only needed 4.

In Match 4, Rajiv, Gadgil and Sanjay all showed great class in their respective specialised subjects, scoring 7, 8 and 7, respectively. The general knowledge sets, though, opened up big gulfs, with Rajiv finally showing the class one expects of him to finish on 14 points, the highest score of any participant in both the Rounds so far.

So, the finals, scheduled for Sunday January 15 – during QuizStock – will feature Ajey, Harsh, Srijit and Rajiv. Promises to be great fun!

Monday, December 12, 2016

Master, Mind It! Round 2 (Semis)

Date: Sunday December 18th
Venue: The International Centre Goa (ICG), Dona Paula
Time: 4.30 pm onwards
QM: Aniruddha Sen Gupta
Flavour: Two rounds – Chosen Subject + General Knowledge (like Mastermind, but with masala)
Participation: Pre-registered contestants only (list below). Open to all to watch, entry free.

Match 1
Chirag Mutgi, Tejan Karmali and Ajey Patil

Match 2
Harsh Bhatkuly, Ameya Mardolkar and Sahil Ramchandani

Match 3
Sanjay Parab, Vidyadhar Gadgil and Rajiv D'Silva

Match 4
Srijit Kumar, Gouthami and Delson Roche

Monday, December 5, 2016

KQA Mahaquizzer and AsiaSweep 2016

Date: 11th December 2016
Time: 10.00 am (reporting time). The quiz will begin at 10.30 am sharp.
Venue: Room A10, Faculty Block ‘A’, Goa University, Bambolim.
Set by: Alagar Samy, Lakshana Kripash, Movin MirandaAnustup DattaHrishikesh Varma
Proctor: Kanchan Gatward
Flavour: General
Format: Written. 150 questions to be answered in 90 minutes.
Participation: Open to all, entry free. For individual participants.

Date: 11th December 2016
Time: 2.30 pm (reporting time). The quiz will begin at 3.00 pm.
Venue: Room A10, Faculty Block ‘A’, Goa University, Bambolim.

Set by: Dibyendu Das and Arul Mani
Proctor: Kanchan Gatward
Flavour: Asia-specific
Format: Written, 75 questions
Participation: Open to all, entry free. For teams of two (solo participants are also allowed).

To register for both quizzes and for more details, visit

Panjim Dec monthly – results

QM: Shubham Tiwari
1st: Annie Sen Gupta, Asha Rane, Ashwin Mascarenhas, Mohnish Sardessai, Paul Gatward – 360 points
2nd: Aditya Mallya, Anuradha Goyal, Chinmay Naik, Nayana Naik, Parth Gaonkar, Saish Borkar – 285
3rd: Anant Sridhar Prabhu, Kaivalya Karkare, Kanwalpreet Singh, Madhura Chakaborty, Soham Kamat – 252
4th: Baljit Singh, Harshvardhan Bhatkuly, Nathan Moniz, Pallavi Dhakne, Parind Phadte – 237
5th: Amey Parsekar, Chaintanya Naik, C.N. Prabhakar, R. Samyak, R. Satya, Srijit Kumar – 220
6th: Aditya Naik, Anand P.S., Anjali Sen Gupta, Kanchan Gatward, Nehara Pandey – 192