Thursday, February 25, 2010

Saraswat Quiz

Date: 28th February 2010
Time: Prelims - 9 am, Finals 5.30 pm
QM: Harshvardhan Bhatkuly
Part of: Saraswat Food & Cultural Festival
Flavour: General & Saraswat trivia
Venue: BPS Club, Margao
Participation: Open to students of Std. VIII & IX from the Saraswat community

Wednesday, February 24, 2010

SEQC Mastermind finals

February 28, 2010

First up: Fourplay Open Quiz
Time: 5 pm (prelims); 5.30 to 7pm (finals)
QM: Rajiv D'Silva
Flavour: General
Venue: International Centre Goa, Dona Paula
Participation: Open to all. No entry fee or registration.
Details: Prelims to be answered individually. Top eight finishers in the prelims will go on stage for finals.

Main event: SEQC Mastermind finals
Time: 7 pm to 8pm
QM: Aniruddha Sen Gupta
Format: Specialised subject round, followed by General knowledge round, as in BBC Mastermind
Venue: International Centre Goa, Dona Paula
Participation: Three finalists, based on qualification rounds held in October 2009 and February 2010 -- Abhishek Jha, Amit Shet and Vidyadhar Gadgil.

Come participate in Fourplay, then stay to watch who is crowned SEQC Mastermind 2010.

Thursday, February 18, 2010

SEQC Mastermind enters final stage

It all began in October, with 27 contenders. These were whittled down to nine semi-finalists, who battled it out in December. And now, there are three -- three knights of the quizzing realm, who will fight for the right to be called champion.

The SEQC Mastermind competition for 2009-10 enters its culminating phase, with the finals slated for February 28. The championship battle will be fought in the sublime setting of the Divli lawns at the International Centre Goa. The three finalists are Abhishek Jha, Amit Shet and Vidyadhar Gadgil.

Venerable Goan litterateur, musicologist and Mensa member Victor Rangel-Ribeiro will be present to give away the Mastermind trophies.

The opening attraction of the evening will be a Grand Slam quiz, conducted by Rajiv D'Silva, which is open to all. Planned with a special format that will be revealed on the day by Rajiv, this quiz should be an exciting precursor to the main event. The Grand Slam quiz will commence at 5pm, and should be over by 7pm. The Mastermind finals are slated to run from 7pm to 8pm.

This is going to be the big evening of this year's SEQC calendar. Mark it on yours now!

On the record

A report on the SEQC February 2010 quiz

Okay, so this report's rather late, but then, so was the quiz. All the same, it was great. Rajiv set a new record for delayed starts to an SEQC monthly quiz, thus also managing the record for late finishes. Numerous new entrants, particularly young quizzers from the various school and college quizzes we've been organising, made for a record attendance for an SEQC monthly. And this report, perhaps a record for the longest duration between an SEQC quiz and its report. On the whole, quite a record-breaking quiz.

The quiz itself was a tough one, even by Rajiv's standards, but one that served to remind one why Rajiv is among the most popular and most respected quizmasters in Goa. The big crowd made for some noisy quizzing, especially given the raucous and confrontational BITS contingent.

The battle for positions seemed to have gone a little off-form in the opening rounds, with our team not scoring for three whole rounds. But then, with us putting in a late surge, the finish managed to become a cliffhanger thing, as we came within a question of catching up with the leading team of the evening -- the one spearheaded by Gadgil, Tallulah and two of the BITS boys. Rajiv's innovative last-round format, a way of building in a fair deal for all teams, added to the excitement. Eventually, though, the best team won, thanks to a moonwalking bird spotted by Tallulah, a video question and answer that brought appreciative aahs from everyone in the room.

Wednesday, February 17, 2010

Super Saturday

Those allergic to business quizzes would do well to keep out of the Dona Paula area on the 27th of February. In what must surely be a case of serendipitous scheduling, both of the GIM-organized quizzes and Tata Crucible Campus will take place on the same day within a stone's throw (albeit a stone thrown by a very strong man) of each other.

InQUIZitive Minds

27th February 2010
Time: 9 am
Organized by: Goa Institute of Management
Flavour: Business
Venue: The International Centre, Dona Paula
Participation: Open to college students only, in teams of two. More details here.

Tata Crucible Campus - Goa round

Date: 27th February 2010
Time: 1.30 pm
QM: Giri "Pickbrain" Balasubramaniam
Flavour: Business
Venue: National Institute of Oceanography, Dona Paula
Prizes: 1st - Rs. 75,000/-, 2nd - Rs. 35,000/-
Participation: Open to college students only, in teams of two. More details here.

WizBiz 2010

Date: 27th February 2010
Time: 5.30 pm
Organized by: Goa Institute of Management
QM: Ajay Anthony
Flavour: Business
Venue: The International Centre, Dona Paula
Participation: Open to corporates only, in teams of two. More details here.
Entry fee: Rs. 2,000/team

Thursday, February 11, 2010

SEQC February Quiz - Results

QM: Rajiv D'Silva

1st: Ajachi Chakrabarti, Ajay Parasuraman, Tallulah D'Silva, Vidyadhar Gadgil, Shaila De Souza, Shubham Tiwari - 160
2nd: Anil Rodrigues, Aniruddha Sen Gupta, Atharv Joshi, Blessie James, C. G. Niyati, Leroy Veloso, Shalini Lahiri - 145
3rd: Anmol Naik, Arka Bhattacharyya, Lucy James, Malcolm Gurjao, Sachin Chatte, Shaswat Salgaonkar, Sumedh Joshi, Taran Mukherjee, Varun M., Vernon Fernandes - 125
4th: [Adish Talwadkar, Ameya Mardolkar, Conrad Fernandes, Jatan Rodrigues, Mahesh Prabhu, Paola Mambro, Sridhar Ramachandran] & [Aditya S., Akash Kulkarni, Joshan Cherian Abraham, Mariette Correa, Pranab Mukherjee, Prashant Vaidya, Srikant Subramaniam, Sumeet Maladkar, Vibhas Prabhudessai] - 100
6th: Amit Shet, Anjali Sen Gupta, Ashwin Mysore, Joshua Fernandes, Latha M. R., Mangesh Sonawane, Nitin Bhageria, Pratik Nayak, Raj Kunkolienkar, Samyak, Suraya Costa Mukherjee - 90

(We have had an issue with losing one of the sheets with team members' names on it, so if anybody can remember who else was in their team, or which team they themselves were in, please mail me or leave a comment.)

The next monthly will be held on the 7th of March, to be hosted by N. Sirish.

Monday, February 1, 2010

SEQC February Quiz

Date: 7th February 2010
Time: 5 pm
QM: Rajiv D'Silva
Flavour: General
Venue: CCP Hall, 2nd Floor, CCP Building, Opp. Cafe Central, Panaji
Participation: Open

Baskin Robbins Quiz Results

QM: Aniruddha Sen Gupta

Cup Class (Std. V-VII)
1st: Albert Jose, Anurag Panicker, Tanmay Naik (Navy Children's School, Vasco) - 70
2nd:Daniel Alvares, Julian D'Costa, Tarun Mascarenhas (Vidya Vikas Academy, Margao) - 65
3rd: [Cyrus Pereira, Jared D'Lima, Saeel Pai (Rosary High School, Miramar)], [Aby Jose, Jarush Dhume, Raunak Pai (Rosary High School, Miramar)] & [Dhawal Pagay, Mohnish Sardessai, Varun Devjani (Sharada Mandir, Miramar)] - 15
6th: Christian Cummings, Shawn D'Mello, Yohann Proenca (Sharad Mandir, Miramar) - 3

Cone Class (Std. VIII-X)
1st: Gauri Kenkre, Raj Kunkolienkar, Shashwat Salgaonkar (Mushtifund High School, Panaji) - 45
2nd: Aditya Prabhugaonkar, Shukr Usgaonkar, Valmiki D'Cunha (Sharada Mandir, Miramar) - 40
3rd: Kunal Naik, Siddarth Shetty, Soham Gaunekar (Sharada Mandir) - 35
4th: [Akash Kulkarni, Shubham Kadam, Shubham Tiwari (People's High School, Panaji)], [Abhimanya Bhat, Amod Kolvalkar, Devansh Cholera (Sharada Mandir)] & [Indraneil Choudhary, Mebin Dominic, Shivam Goel (Sharada Mandir)] - 5