Sunday, June 30, 2013

SEQCm June - Results

QM:  Lynn Barretto Miranda

1st: Akash Arun, Ameya Mardolkar, Anjali Sengupta, Ira Almeida, Joe Dias, Roshun George - 140
2nd: Julian D'Costa, Nagesh Parodkar, Nathan Moniz, Sanjay Parab, Tarun Mascarenhas, Viraj Nayak - 65
3rd: Abhijeet Virginkar, Austin Dias, Gaurav P. Mahambre, Kanchan Gatward, Paul Gatward, Viola Rodrigues - 60
4th: Altamash S. Panjwany, Harsh Hegde, Jaiprakash Hegde, Kevin Raposa, Mayuresh Khandeparkar, Sahil H. Ramchandani, Zyfern Dias - 55

The next Margao quiz will be held on the 27th of July.

Monday, June 24, 2013

SEQCm June

Date: 29th June 2013
Time: 5.00 pm
QM: Lynn Barretto Miranda
Flavour: General
Venue: Urban Health Centre, opp Hospicio Hospital, Margao
Participation: Open to all, entry free

Friday, June 21, 2013

Leaderboard Challenge – Content

Doc Murali's questions (finals):

Lynn's questions (finals):

Lynn's questions (semis):

Tallulah's questions:

Anjali's questions:

Doc Murali's questions (semis):

Rajiv's questions:

Viola's questions (semis and finals):

Julian's questions:

Annie's questions:

Tuesday, June 18, 2013

Leaderboard Challenge - Results


QMs: Paul Gatward, Aniruddha Sengupta, Julian D'Costa, Viola Rodrigues

1st: Anjali Sengupta, Mahesh Prabhu, Tanmay Naik - 49
2nd: Ameya Mardolkar, Jatan Rodrigues, Rajiv D'Silva - 48
3rd: Kumar Ramamurty, Parind Phadte, V. R. Muralidharan - 31
4th: Amita Kanekar, Kanchan Gatward, Tallulah D'Silva - 27
5th: Lynn Barretto Miranda, Sanjay Parab - 12


QMs: Rajiv D'Silva, V. R. Muralidharan, Anjali Sengupta, Tallulah D'Silva, Lynn Barretto Miranda

1st: Adish Talwadker, C. N. Prabhakar, Eric Morris, Nitish Wagle - 90
2nd: Aniruddha Sengupta, Kunal Naik, Lucano Alvares, Vikram D'Silva - 75
3rd: Gouthami, Julian D'Costa, Soham Gaunekar - 65 + tie-breaker
4th:  Amit Shet, Renuka Figueiredo, Viola Rodrigues - 65
5th: Paola Mambro, Paul Gatward, Sachin Chatte - 40


QMs: Lynn Barretto Miranda, V. R. Muralidharan, Viola Rodrigues, Paul Gatward

1st: Ameya Mardolkar, Jatan Rodrigues, Rajiv D'Silva - 115 + tie-breaker
2nd: Adish Talwadker, Eric Morris, Nitish Wagle - 115
3rd:  Aniruddha Sengupta, Kunal Naik, Lucano Alvares, Vikram D'Silva - 105
4th: Anjali Sengupta, Mahesh Prabhu, Tanmay Naik - 60
5th: Gouthami, Julian D'Costa, Soham Gaunekar - 30

Friday, June 7, 2013


Almost everyone who was there at the first quiz of SEQC's 6th year (looking gooood!):

Wednesday, June 5, 2013

Leaderboard Challenge

Date: 16th June 2013
Time: 2.30 pm
Format: The 12 top finishers in the Year 5 Leaderboard will be captains of 12 teams of 3 each. Captains are free to pick anybody to form their teams. Captains will also set 2 rounds of 6 questions each, in any format, on any subject. The competition will consist of two semi-finals of 6 rounds each and a final of 6 rounds. Top 3 teams from both semi-finals go to the finals. The six rounds in Semi 1 will be QMed by the 6 captains involved in Semi 2, and vice versa. The six rounds in the final will be QMed by the 6 captains that lost in the semis. Simple.
Captains: Rajiv D'Silva, Aniruddha Sengupta, Nitish Wagle, Julian D'Costa, Lynn Barretto Miranda, Harshvardhan Bhatkuly, V. R. Muralidharan, Sunil Sardessai, Anjali Sengupta, Viola Rodrigues, Tallulah D'Silva, Paul Gatward.
Venue: Zuari Hall, The International Centre Goa, Dona Paula
Participation: The 12 captains will draft 2 more members into their teams, but if you haven't been drafted and want to participate, land up at the venue. Unattached quizzers will be drafted into the other teams, to make teams of 4 or 5 each, turnout depending.

SEQC June - Results & content

QM: Rajiv D'Silva

1st: Anil Rodrigues, Aniruddha Sengupta, Ashwin Mysore, Astrid Vas, Rohan Saxena, Sapana K. C., Srijana K. C., Umang Nair, Veenu Vas - 225
2nd: Ameya Mardolkar, C. N. Prabhakar, Harsh Hegde, Paul Gatward, Rudolf D'Souza, Soham Gaunekar, Tanmay Naik, Vijay Oli, Wilma Alvares - 140
3rd: Amit Shet, Anisha Salgaonkar, Erryl Alvares, Govind Potekar, Kunal Naik, Nitin Salgaonkar, Paola Mambro, Sachin Chatte, Tallulah D'Silva, Vikram D'Silva - 130
4th: Jatan Rodrigues, Kanchan Gatward, Manuel Alvares, Mohnish Sardessai, Nitish Wagle, Rhyes D'Souza, Viraj Nayak - 100
5th: Genevieve D'Souza, Harshvardhan Bhatkuly, Kedar Naik, Lara Pereira, Lynn Barretto Miranda, Mahesh Prabhu, Sanjay Parab, Shaswat Salgaonkar, Shwetambari Parab - 90
6th: Abhijeet Virginkar, Conrad Fernandes, Julian Fernandes, Leroy Veloso, M. S. Raghunandan, Pranav Khadpe, Soham Kamat, Triveni Potekar, Viola Rodrigues - 55

The next Panjim Monthly will be held on the 7th of July, to be hosted by Amit Shet.

Bonus Questions.

Tuesday, June 4, 2013

World Quizzing Championships - Goa Scores

(Scores in brackets are with the lowest-scoring section dropped)

1. Rajiv D'Silva - 76 (72)
2. Julian D'Costa - 66 (64)
3. V. R. Muralidharan - 51 (51)
4. Nitish Wagle - 38 (38)
5. Viola Rodrigues - 37 (37)
6. Paul Gatward - 37 (36)
7. Sunil Sardessai - 30 (29)
8. Amit Shet - 27 (27)
9. Paola Mambro - 22 (22)
10. Siddesh Pai - 8 (8)
11. Vikram D'Silva - 3 (3)

Global results here.

Monday, June 3, 2013

Ta da da daaa – happy 5th!

SEQC started its sixth year with a humdinger of a quiz set by Rajiv D'Silva. It was long and challenging, but interesting as his quizzes always are.

The continuing success of SEQC is due to many people. Let me name a few specifically who've added zest to our lives with their contributions over the months:
* Dr Chandrashekhar Rao, who arranged all the way from Dubai for us to have a 5th birthday cake at hand yesterday.
* Kanchan Gatward who is now regularly baking a delicious cake to replace the bland Mongini's sponge cakes for our mid-quiz breaks (let's see if this year we can rid ourselves of their patties as well).
* Anil Rodrigues for starting the trend of putting up a 'book jumble sale' at each quiz to add to the kitty funds, and Paul-Kanchan and Conrad Fernandes for continuing the tradition. I've heard that others plan to keep this going, which is great!
* Anjali Sen Gupta for diligently and cheerily attending to accounts, snacks and beverages, and any other organisational task that is bunged her way.
* Those like Tallulah D'Silva, Ira Almeida, Mahesh Prabhu and Ameya Mardolkar who are willing to don the mantle of organiser/proctor so that the rest of us can indulge our quizzing desires.
* Nandini Sahai and Arjun Halarnkar at ICG for giving us a home, no questions asked. The ICG staff for running things uncomplainingly even when our events go on later than planned.
* All those others who have QMed, funded (anonymously and otherwise), rounded up funds, organised or even participated at our events.

It's been a long, not-so-strange trip the last five years. Moving forward, let's keep things SEQC!