Sunday, December 28, 2014

SEQCm December – results

QM: Ameya Mardolkar

1st: Akshay Mysore, Aniruddha Sen Gupta, Ira Almeida, Viraj Nayak - 320 points
2nd: Paul Gatward, Suraj Kamat, Terrence D'Costa, Viola Rodrigues - 220
3rd: Julian D'Costa, Kv Gouthami, Lynn Barretto Miranda, Nathan Moniz, Ramchandra Salgaonkar - 195
4th: Anjali Sen Gupta, Ashwin Mysore, Kanchan Gatward, Tarun Mascarenhas - 150

The next monthly quiz in Margao will be held on the 31st of January 2015 and will be QMed by Annie Sen Gupta.

Monday, December 22, 2014

Margao December Quiz

Date: 27th December 2014

Time: 5.00 pm
Venue: Urban Health Centre, opp. Hospicio, Margao
QM: Ameya Mardolkar
Flavour: General
Participation: Open to all.

Thursday, December 18, 2014

Around the World in 30 Questions – report, results and content of 3rd Voyage

A rather paltry turnout for the 3rd and final voyage of the 'Around the World' quiz didn't hamper some excellent and competitive quizzing. In the end, the Pilot Whales, which went into this voyage with an 8-point disadvantage, made that up and pipped the Tasmanian Devils to take top position in the series.

Results of 3rd Voyage:
1st: Pilot Whales (Rajiv D'Silva*, Sanjay Parab, Shaunak Sardessai, Sunil Sardessai) – 33 points
2nd: Tasmanian Devils (Kv Gouthami, Anant Prabhu, Saloni Prabhu, Shreyas Naik) – 20 points
3rd: Leopard Seals (Anjali Sen Gupta*, Leroy Veloso, Lynn Barreto Miranda, Srijit Kumar) – 18 points [9 questions answered]
4th: Amur Falcons (Nitish Wagle*, Devansh Cholera, Ulrike Rodrigues) – 18 points [8 questions answered]
5th: English Bulldogs (Vidyadhar Gadgil*, Kanchan Gatward, Soham Gaunekar, Vikram D'Silva) – 16 points
6th: Clouded Leopards (Paul Gatward, Ramchandra Salgaonkar, C.N. Prabhakar) – 13 points

Final Standings
1st: Pilot Whales – 66 points
2nd: Tasmanian Devils – 61
3rd: Amur Falcons – 46
4th: Leopard Seals – 44 [26 questions answered]
5th: English Bulldogs – 44 [24 questions answered]
6th: Clouded Leopards – 33

Content of 3rd Voyage:

Thursday, December 11, 2014

SEQC Panjim December - Results

QM: Dr. Chandrashekhar Rao

1st: Aniruddha Sen Gupta, Atharva Kenkre, Kaivalya Karkare, Navin Rao, Neema Kamat, Prakruthi Rao, Sachin Chatte, Sanjay Parab, Savitri Rao, Shreyas Naik, Shwetambari Parab - 530
2nd: Ameeta Mascarenhas, Ashwin Kumar, Fatima Kumar, Ira Almeida, Mohandas Kamat, Nandita de Souza, Nikhil Arolkar, Nitish Wagle, Raj Latkar, Rajiv D'Silva, Samyak Rajanala, Terrence D'Costa - 480
3rd: Ajey Patil, Ashwin Mysore, Jared Lobo, Julian D'Costa, Nikhil Shirsat, Prashant N. V., Raghunandan Mysore, Soham Gaunekar, Viola Rodrigues - 445
4th: Anant Lawande, Anant Prabhu, Archit Vashishta, Ashwin Mascarenhas, Shashwat Salgaonkar, Shaunak Sardessai, Sonam Kamat, Srijit Kumar, Sunil Sardessai - 420
5th: Adish Talwadker, Ameya Mardolkar, Amod Kolwalkar, Anjali Sen Gupta, Kalpa Govekar, Kv Gouthami, Leroy Veloso, Lynn Barretto Miranda, Mahesh Prabhu, Vishal Malapati - 395
6th: Ashwini Joglekar, Devansh Cholera, Kanchan Gatward, Nitya Ghotge, Paul Gatward, Rajeev N., Sanjeev Ghotge, Sumukh Pinge, Vidyadhar Gadgil, Vineet Chopdekar - 255

The next monthly quiz in Panjim will be held on the 4th of January 2015 and will be QMed by Vidyadhar Gadgil.

Wednesday, December 10, 2014

AsiaSweep - Scores

  1. Aniruddha Sen Gupta & Rajiv D'Silva - 45
  2. Ajey Patil & Vidyadhar Gadgil - 31
  3. Julian D'Costa & Nitish Wagle - 26
  4. Shaswat Salgaonkar & Viola Rodrigues - 20
  5. Adish Talwadker & Anant Lawande - 16
  6. Rajeev & Vineet - 16
  7. Anjali Sen Gupta & Kv Gouthami - 14
  8. Nilesh Zore & Parind Phadte - 11
  9. Anant Prabhu & Paul Gatward - 9
Complete nationwide scores will be up soon at

MahaQuizzer - Scores

  1. Aniruddha Sen Gupta - 64
  2. Julian D'Costa* - 51
  3. Rajiv D'Silva - 42
  4. Vidyadhar Gadgil - 39
  5. Ajey Patil - 30
  6. Paul Gatward - 23
  7. Shaswat Salgaonkar** - 20
  8. Kv Gouthami - 19
  9. Anjali Sen Gupta - 18
  10. Anant Lawande - 18
  11. Adish Talwadker - 17
  12. Parind Phadte - 16
  13. Satyajit Dey Pereira** - 14
  14. Viola Rodrigues - 13
  15. Sunil Sardessai - 12
  16. Anant Prabhu - 11
  17. Conroy Alvares** - 4
  18. Atharv Salgaonkar* - 2
  19. Nilesh Zore - 2
(*School, **College)

The final ratified scores will be up on in due course.

'Around the World in 30 Questions' – 3rd Voyage

The 3rd Voyage of 'Around the World in 30 Questions' will commence at 5pm on Sunday December 14 at the International Centre Goa (ICG) in Dona Paula. 'Around the World' is a quiz-based game that mixes quizzing proficiency with a bit of luck. All those who were present for the earlier voyages are requested to try and turn up, as the teams will remain the same as they were for those trips. New participants are also welcome, and will be added to the existing teams.

Date: Sunday December 14, 2014
Time: 5pm
Venue: International Centre Goa (ICG), Dona Paula
QM: Aniruddha Sen Gupta
Flavour: General
Participation: Open to all, entry free.

For the results and content of the previous voyage, and the current team standings, click here

Tuesday, December 2, 2014

Panjim December Quiz

Date: Sunday December 7, 2014
Time: 5.00 pm
Venue: Level One, Clube Tennis De Gaspar Dias, Miramar
QM: Dr. Chandrashekhar Rao
Flavour: General
Participation: Open to all

Monday, December 1, 2014

MahaQuizzer & AsiaSweep

Two challenging quizzes organised by the Karnataka Quiz Association (KQA) will be held in various cities across India and other countries this coming Sunday. In the morning is MahaQuizzer, the national solo quiz. The afternoon will see the 2nd edition of Asiasweep, a quiz on all things Asia. SEQC will be conducting both in Goa.

Mahaquizzer is a solo written quiz, with 150 questions on general subjects to be answered in 90 minutes.

Asiasweep is a written 100-questions quiz for teams of two.

Pre-registration is essential for both quizzes. To register for Mahaquizzer, please use this link. Registration for Asiasweep can be done here. For the latter, you can register yourself individually, and find a partner later or at the venue itself, or even participate solo if you're that confident.

Please bring your own pens/pencils and backing boards. Call 9890141715 in case you need any clarifications.

Date: 7th December 2014
Time: 9.30am (reporting time). The quiz will begin at 10am sharp.
Venue: Level One, Clube Tennis De Gaspar Dias, Miramar.
Proctor: Kanchan Gatward
Flavour: General
Format: Written. 150 questions to be answered in 90 minutes.
Participation: Open to all, entry free. For individual participants.

Date: 7th December 2014
Time: 2pm (reporting time). The quiz will begin at 2.30pm.
Venue: Level One, Clube Tennis De Gaspar Dias, Miramar.
Proctor: Kanchan Gatward
Flavour: Asia-specific
Format: Written, 100 questions
Participation: Open to all, entry free. For teams of two (solo participants are also allowed).

SEQCm Nov 2014 monthly – results

QM: Abhijeet Virginkar

1st: Akanksha Virginkar, Aniruddha Sen Gupta, Lynn Barretto Miranda, Sanjiv Prabhudesai - 205
2nd: Ira Almeida, Julian D'Costa, Sanjay Parab, Viraj Nayak - 170
3rd: Anjali Sen Gupta, Chandrashekar Rao, Kiril Vaz, Mohandas V. Kamat, Nilima Kamat, Prita Mallya, Savithri Rao - 120