Thursday, June 28, 2012

SEQC July Quiz

Date: 8th July 2012
Time: 5.00 pm
QM: Rajiv D'Silva
Flavour: General
Venue: Zuari Hall, The International Centre Goa, Dona Paula
Participation: Open to all, entry free

Tuesday, June 26, 2012

SEQCm June - Results

QM: V. R. Muralidharan

1st: Aniruddha Sen Gupta, Conrad Alvares, Lynn Barreto Miranda, Sahil Ramchandani, Viola Rodrigues - 130
2nd: Eulalia D'Mello, Julian D'Costa, Kalpana Satarkar, Sandip Khalap, Suraj Kamat - 60
3rd: Ameya Mardolkar, D. N. Bhat, Ira Almeida-D'Costa, Nitish Wagle, Sanjay Parab - 50
4th: Abhijeet Virginkar, Akshay Mysore, Harsh Hegde, Rajiv D'Silva, Tallulah D'Silva - 40

The next SEQC quiz in Margao will be held on the 28th of July, to be hosted by Viola Rodrigues.

Monday, June 18, 2012

SEQCm June

Date: 23rd June 2012
Time: 5.00 pm
QM: Dr. V. R. Muralidharan
Flavour: General
Venue: Urban Health Centre, opp Hospicio Hospital, Margao
Participation: Open to all, entry free

Tuesday, June 12, 2012

Quizzing in the rain

Date: 17th June 2012
Time: 10 am
Venue: In front of Ding Dong Bar, 18th June Road
QMs: Amit Shet, Aniruddha Sen Gupta, Jatan Rodrigues, Raunaq Rao
Flavour: General
Participation: Open

Thursday, June 7, 2012

SEQC June - Content & results

QM: Atharv Joshi

1st: Agastya Keni, Aniruddha Sen Gupta, Ashwin Mascarenhas, Leroy Veloso, S. Varun Kumar, Taran Mukherjee, Tallulah D'Silva, Vijay Oli - 175
2nd: Amod Kolwalkar, Anjali Sen Gupta, Astrid Vas, Pooja Phadte, Rajiv D'Silva, Soham Gaunekar, Tarna Khadpe, Veenu Vas - 120
3rd: Aditya Phadte, Ajey Patil, Anil Rodrigues, Kunal Naik, Nikhil Shirsat, Sachin Chatte, Shaswat Salgaonkar, Sunil Sardessai - 110
4th: Pranab Mukhopadhyay, Pranav Khadpe, Sajan Venniyoor, Shrijana K. C., Srijit Kumar, Yash Pathak - 100
5th: Adish Talwadker, Bijon Shaha, Madhura Nawghare, Paul Gatward, Sanchita Rodrigues, Shubham Tiwari, Shukr Usgaonkar, Lara Pereira-Naik - 80
6th: Amey Parsekar, Ashwini Joglekar, Jatan Rodrigues, Neil Nunes, Nisha Oli, Nitish Fatarpekar, Nitish Wagle, Paola Mambro, Saloni Sardessai, Sapana K. C., Soham Kamat, Vikram D'Silva - 70

The next Panjim monthly will be held on the 8th July 2012, to be conducted by Rajiv D'Silva.

Wednesday, June 6, 2012

QPL Finals - The event in pictures

QM Annie surveys his domain

The audience waits in breathless anticipation...

The Tubelights, all switched on and ready.

The Poders are pleased with their weapons of mass distraction. Not everybody was, though.

The Gaurs were ready to lock horns with the other teams, and the Slouchers did anything but live up to their name, going neck-and-neck with the winners until the last question.

QPL Champions 2012 - The Poders!

Tuesday, June 5, 2012

QPL Finals -- scores

An action-packed Final brought the Quizzing Premier League (QPL) to a close on Saturday, June 2. The match was enlivened by the teams going in with props and 'uniforms', and some even raising an infernal racket. The field, as it has been in some earlier matches, was split into two early on, with two teams surging ahead, and two lagging behind. It stayed that way till close to the finish, with hand-wringingly close contests at either end which each only got resolved in the last round. In the end, the Poders, led by Rajiv D'Silva, brought home the bread, edging out the Slouchers with their politicians' caps and lackadaisical attitudes. The final scores:

1st: Poders (Rajiv D'Silva*, Mahesh Prabhu, Agastya Keni and Jatan Rodrigues) -- 165 points
2nd: Slouchers (Anil Rodrigues*, Srijit Kumar, Ajey Patil and super-sub Atharva Joshi) -- 147 points
3rd: Tubelights (Nitish Wagle*, Anjali Sen Gupta, Leroy Veloso and Kalpana Satarkar) -- 107 points
4th: Gaurs (Paul Gatward*, Tallulah D'Silva, Parind Phadte and Soham Gaunekar) -- 81 points

QPL Finals -- questions and answers

Monday, June 4, 2012

World Quizzing Championships 2012 - Goa scores

Scores are of the best seven topics, scores in brackets are of all eight.

1. Aniruddha Sen Gupta - 119 (129)
2. Rajiv D'Silva - 83 (90)
3. Ajey Patil - 62 (69)
4. Paul Gatward - 48 (49)
5. Viola Rodrigues - 47 (48)
6. Kunal Naik - 44 (47)
7. Leroy Veloso - 44 (45)
8. Sunil Sardessai - 40 (43)
9. Atharv Joshi - 40 (41)
10. Nitish Wagle - 40 (42)
11. Anjali Sen Gupta - 38 (40)
12. Suraj Kamat - 34 (35)
13. Srijit Kumar - 32 (34)
14. Paola Mambro - 29 (30)
15. Amit Shet - 27 (28)
16. Shiva Mandre - 27 (28)
17. Tanmay Naik - 25 (25)
18. Brijesh K - 21 (21)
19. Jatan Rodrigues - 20 (21)
20. Nitish Fatarpekar - 11 (11)
21. Pandurang Gainkar - 3 (3)

Complete worldwide scores will shortly go up at the WQC site.