Thursday, October 1, 2009

SEQC Mastermind participants and format

The ball has begun rolling on SEQC Mastermind. Twenty-four participants have confirmed their participation in the event -- a good number, mathematically. Here's the final list:
1. Ashray Adappa
2. Harshvardhan Bhatkuly
3. Nitash CG
4. Sachin Chatte
5. Julian D'Costa
6. Luis Dias
7. Rajiv D'Silva
8. Tallulah D'Silva
9. Vidyadhar Gadgil
10. Paul Gatward
11. Abhishek Jha
12. Jayant Karn
13. Vivek Krishnan
14. Ameya Mardolkar
15. Paola Ann Mhambro
16. Chirag Mutgi
17. Navin Pai
18. Mahesh Prabhu
19. Reuben Rodrigues
20. Viola Rodrigues
21. Anjali SenGupta
22. Amit Shet
23. Adish Talwadker
24. Leroy Veloso

These 24 will be divided into eight groups of three each, for the quarterfinals. These eight contests will be split over two days -- four on October 18, and four on October 25. The eight winners of the quarterfinal groups will qualify for the semi-finals.

In the semis, which will be held some two months later, the eight qualifiers will be divided into two groups of four each, with the top two from each group qualifying for the finals to be held early next year.

More information will be revealed over the next couple of weeks, but some things -- who's in what's group, what people's specialised subjects are, etc -- you will only learn when you land up at the events.

The events of October 18 and 25 should be fraught with excitement and cut-throat competition. We expect that the quizzing will take up about two hours on each of the two days -- from 5.30pm to 7.30pm. Mark these dates and times off on your calendars, and tell your friends and relatives to turn up as well, to witness the best of our best go up against each other.


Gaurav said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
Gaurav said...

any more participants allowed??