Monday, April 9, 2012

QPL Tournament Structure

Now that we finally have a fix on the number of teams -- 13 -- contesting the QPL, I am able to come up with a concrete plan for the tournament structure.

Round 1: 3 matches with four teams each (5 teams in Match 3); top two from each match automatically qualify for semi-finals

Matches 1 and 2 have already been completed; Match 3 will be held in Margao on Saturday April 28, with the three teams from Margao and the two new teams from Panjim in the fray.

Play-off: The seven teams that do not automatically qualify for the semis from Round 1 will all enter into a single Play-off match to determine the last two places in the semis.

Semi-finals: The six teams that automatically qualify from the three Round 1 Matches and the top two teams from the Play-offs will be divided into two Semi-final matches with four teams each. The top two teams from each Semi-final will go through to the Finals.

Finals: The top two teams from each of the two Semis will battle it out for the title of QPL Champions.

Tentative dates and venues:
Round 1 Match 3: Margao, Sat April 28
Play-offs: Margao, Sat May 5
Semi-final 1: Panjim, Sun May 20
Semi-final 2: Margao, Sat May 26
Finals: Panjim, Sat June 2

All Margao matches will be played at the Urban Health Centre, opposite the Hospicio. All Panjim matches will be played at the International Centre Goa (ICG) in Dona Paula.

No comments: