Tuesday, November 12, 2013

ITZ Play-off Match – report and results

In one of the most acrimonious quizzes that I have ever seen at SEQC (so much so you could easily have imagined it to be a battle of Feku vs Pappu supporters), the Panjim Psmartypants fought off the challenge of their local and outstation competitors and squeezed through to the Final of the ITZ competition. In the Final, to be held on Sunday November 17, they will be up against Aldona Ambotik, the Mad-gaonkars and the Panjim Pastafarians.

While the Psmartypants held the lead throughout the match, some sensational developments in the final buzzer round brought both the other teams into contention with just one question to go. At this stage, chaos ensued as buzzers were pressed, rules were modified on the fly and curses were flung across the room.

Play-off Match
QM: Lynn Barreto Miranda

1st: Panjim Psmartypants (Nitish Wagle*, Anant Lawande, Anil Rodrigues, Harsh Bhatkuly, Neil Aurelio Nunes, Soham Gaunekar) – 150 points
2nd: Panjim Procrastinators (Rajiv D'Silva*, Amit Shet, Anant Sridhar Prabhu, Nitish Fatarpekar, Raunaq Rao, Sunil Sardessai, Tallulah D'Silva) – 130
3rd: Ponda Ponderers (Ameya Mardolkar*, Anirudh Shirsat, Ashwin Mysore, Raghunandan Mysore) – 110

Through to the finals: Panjim Psmartypants

No comments: